Reachback – Chapter 7 – Scout, Our Kuchi Dog partner

One thing that will boggle the mind, is Dogs in Afghanistan, Kuchi Dogs are treated like dirt, they are the most awesome breed I have ever shared space with. Loyal, great climbers, natural herders (there were some bloody fingers of the kids at the Fablab) which was the first alarm, but also protective, but need the Alpha human around to be happy. Tho they play an important role in defending the camp, or village. Locals totally freak out at how we americans treat and love our canine friends. During Ramadan (aka ramazan) , if a dog touches a Muslim during ramazan, they are desecrated. Totally freak out. My heart literally broke when we lost scout due to mysterious circumstances, Scout was my room mate @ Taj, and my friend, but I was NOT Alpha. I will also add, having a “pet” dog that you love, in a war zone, is a very bad idea if you are not 100% on station with your dog. Nuff Said. But for me, I slept much better at night knowing that Scout was on station.
scout

Even so, I had a pack of Wild Dogs that I would feed every night off the babadeck, and they were comfortable to occasionally sleep there.   A couple wanted SO BAD just to be petted, and loved, taken in, but I knew I couldn’t do that.  Best security in the world is the Alert you get from the pack.   One year a newbie guard was chasing them off, I went out and told them to stand the fuck down.  This pack works with you.  You need to appreciate that.  Lost in translation.  TIA.

Leave a Reply

